cocktails

The Dubonnet Cocktail

Dubonnet

Dubonnet (Photo credit: Awfulknitter)

I’m a huge fan of trying new things. I do, of course, have my habits. I almost always have bacon and runny eggs for breakfast. If I’m in a busy bar, I always order Maker’s Mark on the rocks. It’s easy and delicious. I rarely break from these traditions. I can understand people who stick with what they know. On the occassion, I am up for experimenting with a new flavor and if I know what your like I’ll offer another alternative.

So a pretty common go to drink for someone not sure what to order is a gin and tonic. This is where, I turn them on to The Dubonnet Cocktail. Dubonnet is a wine based apertif made with a little bit of quinine. Quinine in also in tonic water and why it has a bitter flavor.

So next time you’re thinking of a gin and tonic, have a Dubonnet Cocktail instead. It is also either a masculine or feminie drink.

Dubonnet Cocktail

1 1/2 oz. gin

1 1/2 oz. Dubonnet Rouge

Ice

Tools: mixing glass, barspoon, strainer

Glass: cocktail

Combine ingredients in mixing glass with ice. Stir and strain into a cocktail glass.

Adapted from The Savoy Cocktail Book, 1930

8 thoughts on “The Dubonnet Cocktail

  1. I will have to give this a try. (I’m assuming you use a gin like Beefeaters, not Hendricks?) I like Beefeaters & cranberry juice w/ a dash of 7-up and a slice of lime. Alternately, I like Hendricks with 7-up and cucumber + lemon slices. But this sounds interesting. Dubonnet…. Thanks! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Home made bitters. | mdh

Leave a Reply

